Draft Meeting Summary Notes

Stelco – Hamilton Works Community Liaison Committee (CLC)

25 January 2017, 5:30 p.m., Hamilton Waterfront Trust

CLC Members In Attendance:

Peter Ipema, Geoff Knapper, Lorna Moreau, Kristin O'Connor, John Sanges

Other Attendees:

John Beals (Ministry of the Environment and Climate Change) Adrienne Clark (Ministry of the Environment and Climate Change) Katie Chan (Stelco) Peter Schiestel (Stelco) Jochen Bezner (community member) Kat Bezner (community member)

Welcome and Safety Contact

The safety evacuation procedure was reviewed for all in attendance in case of an emergency.

Review and Approval of Agenda

The committee accepted them as presented.

Review and Approval of Minutes of 06 October 2016

Minutes from the 06 October 2016 meeting will be reviewed and were accepted as presented.

Performance under O.Reg. 419/05 Site Specific Standard Order - Particulates

Katie provided a summary of the performance of the Hamilton Works coke battery operations in the fourth quarter of 2016 under the Site-Specific Standard Order for particulates. Adrienne Clark provided a verbal summary of the Ministry of Environment and Climate Change's comments regarding the coke battery operations.

Winter Dust Management Update

Peter Schiestel (Area Manager – Coke Producing) presented an overview of the management practices conducted at Hamilton Works to control fugitive dust in the winter time, including at the coal fields and in-plant roads.

The New Stelco

Katie provided a summary of the New Stelco, and the current job recruiting campaign within the organization. Job opportunities across a range of fields are available in both Hamilton and Nanticoke. Committee members were encouraged to visit Stelco's new website stelcocanada.com for more information. Stelco is also on social media via Twitter at @StelcoCanada .

Community Concerns

No concerns were raised at this time.

Adjournment

Reminder of the CLC Meeting Schedule for 2017

Wed. Jan. 25 Wed. April 12 (tentative) Wed. July 12 Wed. Oct. 11 (tentative)

All meetings will take place from 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.